Who We Are

We are community leaders passionate about strengthening our values-based network so that we can effectively lead at every level of the community. Miami’s Next Leaders is organized by alumni of New Leaders Council Miami. We are an independent, alumni-led organization dedicated to continually creating a better Miami.

Board of Directors




Leiva serves as the President of the Board of Directors for Miami’s Next Leaders. Leiva has spent the past seven years advocating for students as a teacher and leader in South Florida schools, with a particular focus on equity and social justice. A perpetual innovator, she has co-founded two companies in the last three years: her first venture is FitLit, a non-profit that blends fitness and literature for students, and her second is MetaMindset, an LLC that trains teachers, parents, and students on mindfulness, understanding the brain, and the importance of emotional intelligence. She has a Masters in Education from Johns Hopkins University, claims Spanglish to be her first language, is a twitter aficionado, and is a natural born storyteller.


sabrina velarde


Sabrina is a passionate public servant who has focused her career on addressing the need for affordable housing in Miami-Dade County and protecting the rights of those living in affordable units. She serves as the Policy + Strategy Analyst with Miami Homes For All - a housing advocacy organization dedicated to a future Miami where everyone has a safe and stable place to call home. In this role, she conducts best practice research, convenes partners across industries, and advocates for meaningful and impactful policies that will lead to the creation and preservation of affordable housing throughout Miami-Dade County.  Sabrina is a graduate of the 2017 Community Scholars in Affordable Housing program and the 2019 Miami’s Next Leaders Leadership Development Institute. 


monica skoko rodriguez


Monica Skoko Rodriguez is a first generation college graduate and Miami-native dedicated to improving the public health of her community as a Senior Health Educator with the Florida Department of Health. Monica has a diverse background: she is a trained storyteller from NYU's Tisch School of the Arts, a practicing nurse at Planned Parenthood, and graduate of Johns Hopkins’ MPH program.

Monica has worked to effect systemic change at a policy level by working as a fellow on a congressional campaign, acting as the Political Director of the Downtown Democrats, lobbying extensively for reproductive rights, and working on immigration policy. She marries this work with grassroots community efforts such as get-out-the-vote canvassing, facilitating Catalyst Miami’s CLEAR program on climate resilience, and empowering and educating youth advocates on everything from sexual health to rebelling against Big Tobacco. Monica is also the founder of the Miami Film Club which aims to make film accessible and gives Miamians an outlet to speak about and create creative content. Monica is an avid traveler, amateur stand-up comedian, budding wine snob, and devoted plant and dog mom. As MNL Treasurer, she is excited to grow and cultivate Miami’s network of change makers.


arohi bhatt


A native of Toledo, Arohi studied Economics and International Development at Miami University (the one in Ohio). She started her career as a supply chain analyst for Ascension Health and in the past 4 years has done finance, operations, and development for the Miami region of Teach for America.  Currently, she works as the Director of Adult Learning on the Org-Wide Learning and Strategy team at TFA. Her current work allows her to apply the theory and practice of adult learning to all functions of the organization. Arohi was Civic Impact Fellow with Radical Partners and a Miami’s Next Leaders fellow in 2019. She is deeply passionate about women's leadership, progressive issues, art & design, travel, organizational development, and cultivating joy at work.


Board Members At-Large

Alyssa Cundari Roelans 

Walker Mosley 

Danny Mendoza

Oscar Londoño

Gustavo Perez

Nicki Graham 

Lasonya Rodgers

Vanessa Pierre

Jono De Leon 

Board Member Ex-Officio

Diana C. Mendez